Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
(Had contact with F5 been made prior to the ball's arrival, we would have OBS in ASA, but not in NCAA).
|
Disagree. Unless the NCAA has a different definition of "about to receive" than just about everyone else, this would be OBS in NCAA.
"About to receive" is/was defined as a thrown ball that gets between the runner and defender preparing to receive the ball. Since so many people, including some umpires, were confused by this definition by taking it too literally, the definition was reinterpreted for the umpires to mean that the ball had to reach the defender prior to the runner. As you stated above, if the contact had occured prior to the ball's arrival, the "about to receive" caveat to the OBS ruling would not have been met.