Quote:
Originally Posted by chibler
..Had the ball arrived AFTER the runner, OBS would have been called per ASA and NFHS. I don't know the NCAA particulars but it sounds like it would NOT have been OBS in NCAA.
|
I was watching the game, saw the play, and my first thought was to look for obstruction. (Maybe all those clinics and meetings are starting to kick in!

)
I thought, after seeing the play in real time, there was no obstruction. My initial thought was confirmed after watching the slo-mo replay. I also noticed that the PU was right there to make the call, and she did not have the benefit of slo-mo replay.
The difference in the NCAA OBS rule vs ASA and NFHS is the "about to receive" clause. NCAA has it, the others don't. The interpretation of "about to receive" is that the ball is closer to the fielder than the runner is.
In the play being discussed, the runners path was not altered until the collision with F5. Had the collision occured
before F5 had the ball, OBS should be called in all codes, including NCAA. If "about to receive" is interpreted as I mentioned earlier, and the collision happened before F5 had the ball, it is impossible for the ball to be closer to the fielder than the runner is. Therefore, F5 is
not "about to receive" the ball by the interpretation above and OBS would be the correct call.