View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 07, 2006, 07:28am
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoomerSooner
Don't charge an error to the catcher. There are specifications about this type of a misplay that clarify that it is not an error due to the frequency that pitcher and catcher handle the ball, and it should be scored as a passed ball or wild pitch not an error.
Speaking ASA.

Based on 11.6.A, a passed ball and wild pitch could be scored an error if it prolongs the batter's "at bat" or the life of a present runner.

The terms "passed ball" and "wild pitch" are only addressed in rule 11 as it pertains to the format of the scorer's game summary.

I am assuming there are additional definitions and scoring rulings at another location in ASA's statistical documentation.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote