Thread: balk question
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 02, 2006, 12:07pm
blueump blueump is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tustin, Michigan
Posts: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigUmp56
As long as the shoulder turn was slow and deliberate, and he came set before he delivered the ball, it's not a balk. If the shoulder turn was real quick it would be considered an illegal feint to first and a balk would be called.


Tim.
That may be the case in OBR (??), but not FED. In FED rules this year, it is legal. Speed has nothing to do with it. He can turn his shoulders at any speed, in any manner, as long as he has not yet come to the set position. Simply turning the shoulders is not a feint.
__________________
"When I umpire I may not always be right, but I am always final!"
Reply With Quote