OK, one of you NCAA guys!
In the Peach Bowl:
Play: On a pass that went beyond the neutral zone and is near the sideline, B1, jumps up and has the ball in his grasp while in the air beyond the sideline. Before he comes down, he tosses the ball forward to B2 who is inbounds and advances.
The officials ruled that it was a completed pass but B1 committed an illegal forward pass. They gave it to the defense but penalized them 5 yards from the point where B1 tossed it forward.
If this happened in high school, I don't see where B1 did anything wrong! It's not a catch until B comes down inbounds! Since it's not a catch there's no possession! Therefore, he can't throw an illegal pass. To me, it's like batting a forward pass!
Is NCAA different?
__________________
Dex
|