View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 18, 2006, 01:04am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dribble
I think you should post the entire rule reference of 4-36 with all articles for everyone. You're taking parts of it here and there to make it applicable to the scenario to justify your argument.
OK, since I believe that Chuck and JR are correct I'll post it:

SECTION 36 POINT OF INTERRUPTION
ART. 1 . . . Method of resuming play due to an official's accidental whistle, an interrupted game, as in 5-4-3, a correctable error, as in 2-10-6, a double personal, double technical or simultaneous foul, as in 4-19-8 and 4-19-10.
ART. 2…Play shall be resumed by:
a. A throw-in to the team that was in control at a spot nearest to where the ball was located when the stoppage occurred.
b. A free throw or a throw-in when the stoppage occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such.
c. An alternating-possession throw-in when the point of interruption is such that neither team is in control and no goal, infraction, nor end of quarter/extra period is involved.


Now you can see that by the structure of article 2 this is a step by step process. You first see if part a applies, if so you award the ball to that team. If not, you go to part b. If part b applies that team gets the ball for that type of restart, if not then go to part c, which is the AP arrow.

IOW the AP arrow is used as a last resort after all other possible ways of awarding possession are exhausted.
Reply With Quote