View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 16, 2006, 08:16am
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dribble
Realistically, I'd probably give the ball to team A, but I want to throw this other rule reference out there for discussion.

I agree with BadNewsRef in that the throw-in should be resumed by the alternating possession arrow. Part c of the same rule that JR quoted (4-36-2c) says, "An alternating-possession throw-in when the point of interruption is such that neither team is in control and no goal, infraction, nor end of quarter/extra period is involved."

When I read that rule I am led to believe that the play does not involve an infraction because to me that's either a violation or a foul and not an inadvertent whistle.

Thoughts?!?
Thoughts? Yeah. You're wrong. And you've already been given the rule reference.

4-36-2(b)
Play shall be resumed by a free throw or a throw-in when the stoppage occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such.

The IW occurs during the throw-in, as the throw-in has not ended because the ball has not been touched inbounds. Since the throw-in is the POI, that's how the game is restarted. The rule doesn't require a violation or a foul.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote