Thread: Ball in Dugout
View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 16, 2006, 08:08am
wmandino wmandino is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 52
Ball in Dugout

Last night at during an 11-12 yr old Dixie Youth Baseball game, man on first base. B1 hit a groundball to the shortstop who fielded the ball and touched 2nd base to force R1 out he than threw the ball to first for the double play but instead it went in the dugout. The umpire called dead ball and gave B1 second base. Between innings he told me that had the shortstop tossed the ball to second baseman to turn the double play and he (2ndbaseman) threw it in the dugout the runner is entitled 2 bases because two fielders touched the ball. i.e. B1 would get first and second because the shortstop and second touched it. None of this made sense to me.

Could anyone try to explain what he might have been talking about.

Thanks.
__________________
There are no such things as close pitches, they are either balls or strikes.
Reply With Quote