I had one this weekend. HS game, FED rules. Clean single to right field, 1b moves to stand on top of the base as the runner was rounding first on the single and they collide. I call "that's obstruction". When the play is over I award the BR second. Defensive coach comes out, I explain, " your player was not in the act of fielding a ball or throw, he had no business being on the base". He shrugged his shoulders and went back to the bench. BTW, he lost the game 27 - 6.
Bob P.
__________________
Bob P.
-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.
|