View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 10, 2006, 11:09am
UmpJM UmpJM is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

mikew4242,

First, you might want to change "interference" to "obstruction" in both the title and text of your post.

Second, it depends.

What was the fielder doing in the basepath. If he was "in the act of fielding", he's pretty much allowed to be there.

Also, what rules are you playing under? Under FED (aka High School) rules, if the fielder hinders the runners advance while not in the act of fielding, the obstructed runner is always awarded at least one base beyond the last legally occupied.

Under OBR rules, unless a play was being made on the obstructed runner at the time of the obstruction, the umpire awards bases (or not) to "nullify the act of obstruction".

JM
Reply With Quote