Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
This is about interfering with a fielder, not the ball.
|
8-7-J-4 is also interferring with a defender. 8-7-L is interferring with a ball.
Case Play 8.8-42 is on point.
R1 on 3B and R2 on 2B when B3 hits a ball to F5. The ball goes off of F5's glove and F6 tries to field the ball when R2 collides with F6. (a) As R2 tried to alter their path or (b) collides with F6 after having the opportunity to avoid F6 and make no attempt to avoid contact.
Ruling: (a) Live ball, no interference. (b) R2's actions are judged to be intentional. Dead ball, R2 is out, R1 returns to 3B, B3 awarded 1B.