Thread: Charge
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 24, 2006, 03:04am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by fonzzy07
and that yes he was right his player still had an established back court position when I blew the whistle
This got me thinking, which is always dangerous, about player location.

When an airborne player jumps from a location whether it be inbounds, out of bounds, backcourt, frontcourt, inside/outside the 3pt line, FT lane, etc., if that player comes down on another player (opponent or teammate) WITHOUT committing a foul and WITHOUT touching the floor, does this player still retain the status of his last floor location?
It seems odd, but the rules seem to support this.

Test play:
So a player with the ball who is standing in his frontcourt falls over backwards and lands on his butt, with feet up in the air, on top of his already prone teammate who is lying in his backcourt. He maintains possession of the ball the entire time and never touches the floor in the backcourt only his teammate's body. Anyone have a bc violation?
Reply With Quote