View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 19, 2006, 10:57pm
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
What constitutes an obvious mistake?
The official sees that the clock didn't stop immediately on his whistle. If the clock shows tenths, and I see that the clock clicked an extra tenth, then yeah, I'm putting it back up.

The fact is that I think this rule should only be used when tenths are showing. If the clock doesn't show tenths, then you don't really know where it was when the whistle blew. Was it at 3.7 or 3.1? You don't know unless you can see the tenths. If there are no tenths showing, you're adding a full second, when it's possible that only 2 tenths ran off.

I hope the full rule mentions tenths, like the college rule does.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote