View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 12, 2006, 06:56am
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big_Mike
ASA Rule 4:6-B-2 mandates that a reported substitute (in this case the FLEX for the DP) must stay in the game for one pitch, legal or not, or one play in order to be considered "in the game".
There is no such rule in ASA. You are misreading 4.6.B. This reference is there solely for the purpose of defining a point in time the offense may report a substitute without penalty should the defense raise the issue.

See the umpire's page at www.asasoftball.com and check rules interpretations for the month of March.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote