Clarification (ASA)
I should have clarified that I am talking about ASA - my apologies! "Earning" their way on is an NFHS rule and I am aware of the differences.
ASA Rule 4:6-B-2 mandates that a reported substitute (in this case the FLEX for the DP) must stay in the game for one pitch, legal or not, or one play in order to be considered "in the game". At this point, it would seem as though we could allow the CR for the FLEX.
I believe the intent of the coach is to get speed on the bases with the intent or re-entering the DP. A DP would still have re-entry rights in this scenario as it is the first time she's being taken out of the game.
|