View Single Post
  #37 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 31, 2006, 02:57pm
SanDiegoSteve SanDiegoSteve is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by UMP25
I don't have the NFHS book handy, so I'll defer to someone who does at the moment, like Bob J. mentioned earlier. NCAA and OBR I tend to know like the back of my hand, so it's easier to explain this play under those rules. Plus, NCAA and OBR are the same on most of their rules, whereas NFHS is different, to say the least.

This morning alone, I heard from two FED umps who gave me radically different answers to what the ruling would be under NFHS. One of these gentlemen is an assignor, but his answer seems way off.
It's the same. 2 bases from the position of the runners at the Time Of The Throw. There is no mention of "legally attained bases" or any such wording in any code of rules concerning a ball being thrown out of play. The runner, having acquired 2nd base at the Time Of The Throw, is awarded home base. It is his responsibility to retouch any missed base(s). If he does not retouch, he may be called out upon proper appeal. This is a recording......
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote