Quote:
Originally Posted by midtnblu
Case Book 8.2.5
Ruling: A runner may not return to a base left too soon on a caught fly ball if he was on or beyond a succeeding base when the ball became dead. Upon proper appeal, R1 shall be called out. If no appeal is made, R1 will be awarded 3B.
If R1 was headed back and was between 1B and 2B, the return is allowed and the award is 3B.
|
Also, NAPBL 3.11 Play 2: (paraphrased) R1, Leaves on pitch; fly ball caught; is between 2nd and 3rd when throw to frist goes out of play. Ruling: Runner is awarded third (two bases from his original base). However, while the ball is dead, he must return to and touch first. (additional parts of the ruling deleted)