PWL, I see you completely ignored my question. Because you couldn't possibly have an answer that is consistent with your incorrect ruling and still makes sense.
The book makes no mention of the umpire's need to determine whether bases were attained legally or illegally, nor does it mention the need to "erase" part of a base award if a retouch is required.
This has come up in clinics before and unanimously the answer is that the player is simply (simple because it says nearly exactly this in the book) awarded 2 bases from WHERE HE IS at the time of the throw.
Let's give it another hypothetical that illustrates your solution as wrong. R1 starts on first, tags legally, passes 2nd base, coach is then yelling BACK BACK, so he returns, missing 2nd, but is between 1st and 2nd when F9 throws the ball out of play. The last "legally acquired base" in your vernacular (not to be found in a rulebook), is SECOND base - but he's between 1st and 2nd at TOT. The proper award is 3rd base. You would award home by your logic. Clearly this is also wrong.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
|