View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 29, 2006, 09:18pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by refTN
My point in 2 was that by rule you can't have BI so if you want to give the kid two points or an attempt at two points because the basket didn't go in, then the only things that is backed by rule is a T. It is your judgement that decides if he slapped the backboard or not to draw attention to himself, so even if you think he made a legit attempt you could tell the coach that he was trying to draw attention, and there would be people agree with you and not.
You're still missing the concept. If an official feels that a defender is making a legit attempt to block a shot, then that's the end of the judgement on the play. By rule, you can't call a "T" on a legitimate shot block attempt for slapping the backboard.

It's one or the other-- either the defender was trying to draw attention or he was trying to block a shot.
Reply With Quote