Quote:
Originally Posted by refTN
!0 Let me say this first, yes your whacking the kid for trying to bring attention to himself, but at the same time there is no reason to have a tech if the ball goes in the hole, leave it alone, cause the way I interpret this is that it is just like calling an off ball foul while another player is in the act of shooting, if it goes you have to count the basket as well, you can't just say I am waving it off because it didn't leave his hand before i blew my whistle or something of that sort.
2) With the kid making the legit attempt on the ball, I think by rule you have to leave it alone or call a tech.
|
1) That has to be the longest sentence ever written.

Anyway....the reason
for the tech
is to penalize a player for trying to bring attention to himself. The judgement involved is whether the defender was legitimately trying to block the shot or was just whacking the board to make noise. Whether the ball goes in or not is
never relevant to the call in any way.
2) Wrong. You
can't call a "T" by rule ever on a legitimate attempt to make a block.
See the
COMMENT in case book play 10.3.5. The interpretation is exactly the same in NCAA.