hand warmer
I was behind the plate last week for a high school game. It was a 6:00 start and mid 30's with wind; in other words cold. After each pitch one of the pitchers put her hand in her back pocket, which made sense to me given the conditions. I didn't even think about it or look very closely.
Last night I was watching the taped replay of the game(really small, local cable company puts on a game of the week) and as they focused in on the pitcher I noticed that she had some object, about the size of a couple of small batterys, in that pocket. During the after game interview she told the host she kept a small handwarmer in her pocket during the game to help with the cold. She wasn't bragging or anything just answering questions.
Was there a rule being broken? 6-2-2 talks about a substance applied to the ball or fingers, but that doesn't apply. 1-8-1 speaks of non-traditional equipment (maybe?). What do you think?
|