View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 27, 2006, 05:27pm
Al Al is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 207
Send a message via Yahoo to Al
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi
I am a teacher by profession, so it is second nature to me to try and make a person think through a situation first. Of course, everyone else chimed in with the correct answer and robbed you of a learning moment.

As you now know, the instant the batter was hit by the pitch, you would have had a dead ball. That means no other action can occur. Since it was the third strike on the batter, she is out.

Thanks Skahtboi,

And you do a good job teaching! I enjoy learning from your posts, as well as some others. Last year I filled in as base umpire two times for fast pitch teams. The administrator wanted me to get some on the job training, and tried to work me in when possible. He knows I love the game and desire to advance to higher levels. (although I am a bit nervous, thinking about first time behind the plate). In one game a pitched ball went behind a left handed batter and the plate umpire called it a ball. The coach said it hit her, and after a heated show of anger he asked the plate umpire if he could ask me (base ump down the first base foul line) if the ball hit her. The plate umpire said yes...I saw the ball did hit the girl's shirt, so I said "the ball hit her". The plate umpire said take your base. Get this > after the girl got to first base she said "the ball didn't hit me, but I felt it touch my shirt". I had just read the rules on that play and told her if the ball hits your shirt it's the same as hitting you, unless your shirt is hanging way out of your pants. The plate umpire told me after the inning that the girl had told her the ball didn't hit her, and he said he was not aware of the rule about a ball hitting a batters garments. I wish our area had better umpires at the 10 and under fastpitch level to learn from.

Anyway, as Steve has mentioned...Could I have refused to call it when the plate umpire granted the coach permission to ask me, thinking I had a better view of the play, and hoping for a different call? Could I have simply said:.. "It's his call and the call was made, so it stands? In other words if the plate umpire, or the base umpire, is asked for help does he have to say yea or ney? And if so should he/she just let a wrong call stand, if given a chance to correct it? I don't want to ever change my partners call unless I am absolutly possitive he made a bad call. And vise versa. I do understand this could create problems, but would expect it to be a very rare thing. Well, this has been a beautiful day here in central TN. so I'm off to the park to see if there are any games or practices going on. ...Later, ...Al

Last edited by Al; Mon Mar 27, 2006 at 05:31pm.
Reply With Quote