[QUOTE=Nevadaref]Sorry bud, but that is totally incorrect. The player does not even have to touch the ball prior to leaving the court, let alone possess it. Sorry to be so harsh, but you really need to get this stuff straight yourself before you speak so authoritatively on it to others looking for answers. Otherwise, you are doing more harm than help.
Here's the quote from the NCAA book as it appears on pages 127-128:
A player who steps out of bounds under his/her own volition and
then becomes the first player to touch the ball after returning to the playing
court has committed a violation.
a. A violation has not been committed when a player, who steps out
of bounds as permitted by Rule 7-5.8.a, does not receive the pass
along the endline by a teammate and is the first to touch the ball
after his or her return to the playing court
]Team A sets a double screen for A1, who, in attempting to come across the freethrow lane, is legally obstructed by offensive and defensive players so that A1 leaves the playing court under the basket, circles around, returns to the playing court and then is the first to receive the ball. ]A violation has been committed by A1 for leaving the playing court and then becomes the first player to touch the ball upon returnAs you can see no where in the rule is possessing or holding the ball mentioned.
Nevadaref: This is not the situation being discussed. Try page BR-112, article 1. Don't be so quick to judge. I am talking about a player NOT leaving the court voluntarily. Read the case A.R.1 thoroughly and see what you think it says. It delineates between last to touch and then returning to the floor and last to possess and then returning to the floor.
__________________
"Never mistake activity for achievement."
|