View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 23, 2006, 01:10pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiskers_ump
Unfortunately, Another Bad Decision

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

This happen recently in a NFHS game.

Tied game, R1 on 2B, R2 on 1B, 2 Outs. Batter hits a shot out of the park. However, before any runners cross HP, the batter is greeted by most of her team between 1B and 2B, including R1 and R2. Celebration ends, and runners all continue. Defensive coach appeals to umpre (single, partner failed to show), that someone has to be called out on the play. Umpire states that he is not calling anything. Runs score, offended team eventually loses in ITB.

How would you have handled this.

Having seen the play, I know what I would have had, but without having seen it, what would have called, if anything?

Between 1B & 2B? "Coach, get those players off the field, NOW!"

However, unless someone other than another R physically aided the player, I would like to know why the defense thought someone needs to be called out, which player is should be and why?

If the coach cannot tell you that, tell'em to sit down.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote