View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 23, 2006, 12:42pm
baldgriff baldgriff is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiskers_ump
Unfortunately, Another Bad Decision

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

This happen recently in a NFHS game.

Tied game, R1 on 2B, R2 on 1B, 2 Outs. Batter hits a shot out of the park. However, before any runners cross HP, the batter is greeted by most of her team between 1B and 2B, including R1 and R2. Celebration ends, and runners all continue. Defensive coach appeals to umpre (single, partner failed to show), that someone has to be called out on the play. Umpire states that he is not calling anything. Runs score, offended team eventually loses in ITB.

How would you have handled this.

Having seen the play, I know what I would have had, but without having seen it, what would have called, if anything?
Well here are my thoughts. Prefacing this by saying I dont do any fastpitch at all.
This is a dead ball situation so while I dont like the idea of teammates running on the field, they are not really aiding the runner or interfering with a play. Its poor sportsmanship to be sure, but I dont believe I have an out here.

Now the question I have at this point is did the batter complete her circuit around the bases and complete the HR by touching all of the bases. Is she required too? (I ask this because the Mens leagues I umpire at a minimum only require touching first on a HR - keeps the game moving)

If she did not touch all bases and is required to, I suppose an appeal for missing a base would be in order.
Reply With Quote