View Single Post
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 17, 2006, 05:56pm
All_Heart All_Heart is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 518
NFHS Page 51 (Case book section), 7.1.1. Situation D "A1 jumps from inbounds to retrieve an errant pass near a boundary line. A1 catches the ball while in the air and tosses it back to the court. A1 lands out of bounds and (a) is the first to touch the ball after returning inbounds, (b) returns inbounds and immediately dribbles the ball; or (c) picks up the ball after returning to the court and then begins a dribble.
Ruling: Legal in (a) and (b). Illegal in (c) as the toss of the ball to the court by A1 constitutes the start of a dribble, dribbling a second time after PICKING up the ball is an illegal dribble violation.


In this play the player has control when he catches the ball. The player is allowed to re-establish himself and grab the ball.
Reply With Quote