View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 17, 2006, 05:11pm
All_Heart All_Heart is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 518
Re: Simple rule

Quote:
Originally posted by socalreff
A player may not be the last to have control inbounds, leave the court, re-establish inbounds status and be the 1st to touch the ball. You stated that the player dribbled b4 going out--hence, he had control. If he just bats the ball in and goes out, he can be the 1st to touch.
Sorry socalreff but this is incorrect. Control has nothing to do with it. Although your last sentence says that he can be the 1st to touch, I'm assuming that it was a typo.

Sit.
A1 grabs the ball while falling out of bounds. Both of his feet are planted to the floor while he throws the ball to the floor inbounds. He then falls out of bounds. A1 then reestablishes himself back in bounds and picks up the ball. A1 has legally started a dribble and ended the dribble.

[Edited by All_Heart on Mar 17th, 2006 at 05:18 PM]
Reply With Quote