Quote:
Originally posted by Forksref
Quote:
Originally posted by PGCougar
Is it appropriate should the situation allow (e.g. dead ball with official nearby) to make the official aware that we'll be calling for the TO after the make?
|
I have never seen a TO denied in these situations. The interpretation is usually that the TO was called by the coach prior to the ball being at the disposal, even though the ball is in the hands of the player OOB.
[/B]
|
I've never seen a time-out granted in these situations. Well, I gotta amend that a little. I have seen that type of TO granted-- and I also know that the officials that granted it heard about it later because they screwed up. Officials who are trained properly and know the rules will
not grant a timeout unless the request for it is made as per the rule. The rule (5-8-3) states that you can only grant a time-out request when that request is made when the ball is dead or in control of at the disposal of a team. A coach saying that he wants a TO
if a FT is made meets neither provision of the rule. It's not our job to help one team out over another out there, especially by ignoring a plainly written rule--which is exactly what you're recommending in this case.
Your interpretation must be a local one, methinks. I don't think that it's the one being widely taught.
Bad advice imo.