View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 23, 2006, 07:16pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Re: Yes you can call a time out

Quote:
Originally posted by Damian

So, during that brief time between the made basket and the ball being OUT OF BOUNDS in the possesion of the thrower, a timeout can be granted. While the ball is out of bounds even if the throwing team has the ball in a players hands, the ball is still dead. There is no team possesion. All timeout and foul situations comply with this.
Oh my....

Damian, that's a very basic rule that you've got wrong. It's already been cited above too. Again:

Rule6-1-2(b)- "The ball becomes live when it is at the disposal of the thrower".

You couldn't be more wrong. Please read the case book play above too. The NCAA rule is the same also re: when the ball becomes live.
Reply With Quote