Thread: Blarge
View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 22, 2006, 12:39pm
ronny mulkey ronny mulkey is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: White, GA
Posts: 482
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by ronny mulkey

I haven't seen a casebook play or interp that addresses the specific issue of the blarge when the ball is not yet released. Is there not, at least, any forum discussion on this play at all similar to the NCAA's opinion that a blarge is treated a little differently than the single official ruled double foul?

Ron, there is no specific case play, but the NFHS uses the exact same rules on a blarge as they do on any double-foul. That's because a blarge is a double foul. I'll walk through 'em again (it's a good refresher for me, and I also just put this on the agenda to talk about at our next meeting):

- Rule 4-19-8(a) gives you the definition of a double foul/blarge.
- Rule 6-7-7 sez that the ball becomes dead when a foul occurs. That includes double fouls. None of the exceptions listed at the end of R6-7 will apply either.
- Rule 7-5-7 tells you how to resume after a double personal foul--i.e. resume at the POI.
- Rule 4-36-2(a) tells you that the POI is a throw-in to the team that had control when the double-foul was called-- i.e. the shooter's team. If the ball was still in the shooter's hand, he had team control.

Iow, you gotta know all those rules and how to put 'em together to end up with the right call.

Is that what you were looking for?
JR,

Exactly. Thanks. Down here, we are using some Women's college mechanics and the Fed. Don't really know when to apply which. We begin our sectionals Thursday and our pre-tournament/pre-game should be fun. 12 refs from 4 different associations. Several Women's college folks in there, as well.

Mulk
__________________
Mulk
Reply With Quote