
Wed Feb 22, 2006, 09:54am
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 518
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
It is a double personal foul, yes. And if the shot was released before the contact, it counts if it goes in.
The reference is AR 4 on page 107 of the NCAA rulebook. The case is very poorly written, however. In neither (a) nor (b), is it stated whether the try has been released at the time of the contact. The ruling says that the goal counts in (b), so we have to assume that it was released.
But what about (a)? If the try was NOT released, why are we going to the AP arrow? On a double foul, don't we give the ball back to the team in control? If the shot hasn't been released, then A1 is still in control. Shouldn't Team A get the ball with the unexpired time?
|
Great question! Let me know if you find out anything more on this. I have a buddy that is using 6-3AR 4 to show that the shot clock resets and I'm saying that it should not reset and the ball should go to the team in control.
|