View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 20, 2006, 08:02pm
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally posted by som44
What would happen if after the first team scored (in the basket they were pointed to)
In Fed ball, by definition of rule, you score in your own basket. So if the first team with possession scores on the basket they were pointed to, all is well.

Quote:
Originally posted by som44
a player from Team B realized they shot at the "wrong" basket
Since the first team did not shoot at the wrong basket, B's thinking is flawed.

Quote:
Originally posted by som44
and upon receiving the inbounds pass he too shot at the same basket. His thinking would be that should be his basket. I know what the rules say but what would you do in this case?
B scored on A's basket. Two more points for A. B inbounds. For A to deliberately subseuqently inbounding the ball is (I believe) a technical foul. (Can someone confirm?) If the official sees that A is takign the ball OOB, this is a good time for preventative officiating.

Edit: after reading mick's asnwer, did I miss something?
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote