View Single Post
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 20, 2006, 12:45pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

And all this time I thought we were arguing about where the L should be standing.

[/B]
Well, that too.....

Now that we know where the ball was...i.e.- at the back court FT line extended on the L's side, as per missinglink, we now know:
1) The ball was about 19 feet from the end line and the play is still the T's responsibility.
2) The T probably came across the court to follow the play...so if he came half-way and was straight-lined as suggested, he would be about 25 feet from the save.
3) The L was inside the center line. The center line is 42 feet from the end line. Therefore, if the lead was a step inside center-- i.e. say about 3 feet-- the L would be 39'-19'= 20 feet from the save.

By golly, the L is closer to this play than the trail.

Now....some might say that's too close......

What say you, DanO? Do you get that close to help out on a press when the play is coming to you?

PS- to whom it may concern- The DanO was used because (a) it pisses Dan off, and (b) it is getting late in the day and I haven't pissed Dan off today yet. As far as I know. I think.
Reply With Quote