View Single Post
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 20, 2006, 11:02am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
[/B]
[/B][/QUOTE]
If the L is still in the backcourt, as the original post said, then the ball had better still be below the back FT line. That's very unlikely 5 seconds into a 10 second count. The lead moves up court on a press as the ball moves up the court. The lead isn't supposed to be ball-watching either. Even on a double-team of a dribbler, there's 7 other players out there for the lead to keep an eye on. If the play happened on the L's sideline, maybe the L can help out. If it happened on the T's sideline though, especially if it's below the FT line extended, which is the way that it should be if the L is still in the backcourt, then the trail has the call all the way. And the L shouldn't be watching across the floor and deep to second-guess that call either.

[/B][/QUOTE]Fyi, missinglink and Rich.....

To stop any confusion, here's my original post above. Note the statement "If the play happened on the L's sideline, maybe the L can help out". Any statements that I have made since then related ONLY to a save occuring on the opposite side line.

It seems that both of you might have missed this.
Reply With Quote