[QUOTE]
Originally posted by missinglink
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Badger05
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Are you saying that you never help your trail official out in a press situation?
|
Actually, that's a good comment and a fair question. The answer depends on what you call "helping your partner out".
The L is back there around center someplace to help his partner out on a press. But.... I'm saying that the L has his own responsibilities on the press. And imo those responsibilities don't include watching the ball on the other side of the court- which you seem to be advocating. If the L is watching a save that occurs on the OOB side of the far sideline on the other side of the court- and he's watching that save close enough, using a short glance or peripheral vision, to make a completely accurate and 100% sure judgment that player control was established on the save, well, what does he need the trail for? He's obviously got everything under control all by himself.
Please note that "imo" above. Iow, we just disagree. No need for you to to get upset because of that.
|
In the situation I originally posted, the competition that caused the interrupted dribble and the save occurred at BC FT line extended and OF COURSE was on my line. the majority of the players were in backcourt. The discussion of Lead positioning on press was interesting and spirited but didn't mention the athleticism of the competitors as a factor. The facts of athleticism are such that lead can recover from three feet on the BC side of the division line on a long baseball pass from the BC FT line thrown by a JV girl. (Please no firestorm of sexist criticism). I was comfortable where I was. A page ago, a veteran poster or two said that the 10 second violation should be negated and ball awarded back to A because of the definite change of possession that Trail was unable to see. I don't see that reversal supported by rule but if such a reversal is ok does A get a new ten second count on the subsequent throw in?
|
I just read through this thread for the first time and was wondering "when did the OP say that the ball went out on the sideline opposite?"
Since the ball went out on the OP's sideline, he needs to step up and provide additional information to the trail. Even if the OP was at the far free-throw line, he can see possession of B and the throw back onto the court.
Too many people act as if they simply "can't see" anything out of their primary area, when I know that it simply isn't the case. We have peripheral vision, after all. In 2-person in a press situation, the L has to be prepared to help out. Period. Don't call something right in the face of the trail, of course, but this post isn't anything like that.