View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 20, 2006, 09:59am
missinglink missinglink is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 77
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Badger05
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee

Are you saying that you never help your trail official out in a press situation?
Actually, that's a good comment and a fair question. The answer depends on what you call "helping your partner out".

The L is back there around center someplace to help his partner out on a press. But.... I'm saying that the L has his own responsibilities on the press. And imo those responsibilities don't include watching the ball on the other side of the court- which you seem to be advocating. If the L is watching a save that occurs on the OOB side of the far sideline on the other side of the court- and he's watching that save close enough, using a short glance or peripheral vision, to make a completely accurate and 100% sure judgment that player control was established on the save, well, what does he need the trail for? He's obviously got everything under control all by himself.

Please note that "imo" above. Iow, we just disagree. No need for you to to get upset because of that.

In the situation I originally posted, the competition that caused the interrupted dribble and the save occurred at BC FT line extended and OF COURSE was on my line. the majority of the players were in backcourt. The discussion of Lead positioning on press was interesting and spirited but didn't mention the athleticism of the competitors as a factor. The facts of athleticism are such that lead can recover from three feet on the BC side of the division line on a long baseball pass from the BC FT line thrown by a JV girl. (Please no firestorm of sexist criticism). I was comfortable where I was. A page ago, a veteran poster or two said that the 10 second violation should be negated and ball awarded back to A because of the definite change of possession that Trail was unable to see. I don't see that reversal supported by rule but if such a reversal is ok does A get a new ten second count on the subsequent throw in?
__________________
Who needs the instruction book, let's just put it together.
Reply With Quote