Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Bobby
Is a technical foul for too many players count against a team's count of seven for a team foul penalty situation?
|
Bobby, in HS all direct technical fouls count toward the bonus. The only time a T does not count toward the bonus is when that T is charged indirectly to a head coach due to the behavior of bench personnel. And even in that case, in order to give the head coach his indirect, you would've had to whack somebody on the bench with a direct T.
|
I'm just reposting Chuck's information to re-emphasize it for all the officials who are unsure in this area. Until I conceived of this fact in exactly this manner -- all direct Ts count toward the bonus -- I always had to figure out whether or not it counted; now I don't have to think about it, I just apply the clear rule.
IdahoRef, it is my opinion that if that happens to you, you *do* need to assess the T. I agree with everyone who says you've got to work to avoid it, but if it happens, assess the T.