Quote:
Originally posted by suntzu45
- Was this my call since it was in my zone?
|
Kind of hard to tell from your description. You said that the shot was on the opposite side of the lane from you. As truerookie pointed out, if the shot was taken from below the FT-line-extended, then that would be the Lead's primary area of responsibility. If it was above the FT-line-extended, then it would be your responsibility.
Quote:
- I deferred to the referee and scored the three
(correct or not)?
|
Probably correct. The Referee decides if a goal shall count if the officials can't agree. If we really stretched it, we could say that the Referee decided that your 2-point goal didn't count and his 3-point goal did count.
But this is Jurassic's nightmare scenario. You are 100% convinced that it's a 2 and your partner is 100% convinced that it's a 3. Are you going to have a fistfight out at midcourt to decide who's right? No. So you did, I think, the prudent thing. (Especially since it's a rec league -- just keep it movin'!

)
Quote:
- Lastly, Is a player who is standing but squaring up to the basket with the ball at his waist in the "act of shooting" My call was yes.
|
I would say no. Standing square to the basket is not part of the "habitual motion" of shooting. If you were to say that he was actively turning to the basket, then I would say "yes". "Standing" is not shooting. But moving the hands, legs, or feet to
start a shot obviously is shooting.
I had the pleasure of being observed at camp by Ted Valentine and a coach got on me for giving "continuous motion" and awarding FTs on a foul. Ted told me, "Just say, 'Coach, hand, foot, leg movement. It only takes one'."
Hope that helps a little.