| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
				
				Re: Re: posseion arrow question
			 
			 
			
		
		
		
			
			
	Quote: 
	
	
		
			
				Originally posted by Stat-Man  
	Quote: 
	
	
		
			
				Originally posted by bball4ever  
I have a question about the possesion arrow and when it changes direction. 
 
A jump ball occurs and Team A is awarded the ball. If Team A is entering the ball from out of bounds and an offensive foul occurs, does the possesion arrow change direction or stay in the direction it was just in?  Also, could you explain all or any other time that the arrow would remain the same way.  Such as, how about if a five second call happens? 
			
		 | 
	 
	 
 We were away at a game this past weekend and something similar happened.  (Hmm, maybe this is why you are asking?) 
 
Late in the first half, we had a held ball.  The arrow favored the Visitors and a team control foul occurred before the ball could be thrown inbounds.  Table crew switched the arrow, despite my telling them the arrow shouldn't change.  At halftime I asked the lead official to check this out.  He came back, said that while my rule reference was wrong (I think I gave him the NFHS Cite; NCAA is 6-2-5), I was correct about the rule, and then had the table switch the arrow back, despite their protests.   
 
			
		 | 
	 
	 
 "a team control foul occurred before the ball could be thrown inbounds."
 
There is no team control suring a throw-in under FED rules. You can't have a team control foul under those circumstances.
		  
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
				__________________ 
				Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
			 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 |