View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 13, 2006, 09:13am
Rick Durkee Rick Durkee is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winchester, NH
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by IdahoRef
When do you stop counting a 5 second call and where is it found in the book? I'm specifically trying to find out when the count is stopped. My Ref buddies tell me it stops as soon as one's head and shoulders get past the defenders torso, but I cannot find it.
NFHS rule 10-6-2 says "If a dribbler, without contact, sufficiently passes an opponent to have head and shoulders in advance of that opponent, the greater responsibility for subsequent contact is on the opponent".

The rationale used to cease a 5-second closely guarded count at the same time as the dribbler does that is:
- if the dribbler gets his head and shoulders past a defender, that defender has lost his "legal guarding position"....
I agree completely with your interpretation, and the language in the next sentence of 10.6.2 is a good additional hint. Do you have any evidence that NFHS uses that rationale. I hope you say, "yes" and tell me there has been a published interpretation. I didn't use the citation because I didn't konw if it was an official "rationale". I would love to be able to cite it with complete confidence.
__________________
Insert cool signature line here!
Reply With Quote