
Mon Feb 13, 2006, 09:00am
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Parma Ohio
Posts: 93
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by IdahoRef
When do you stop counting a 5 second call and where is it found in the book? I'm specifically trying to find out when the count is stopped. My Ref buddies tell me it stops as soon as one's head and shoulders get past the defenders torso, but I cannot find it.
|
NFHS rule 10-6-2 says "If a dribbler, without contact, sufficiently passes an opponent to have head and shoulders in advance of that opponent, the greater responsibility for subsequent contact is on the opponent".
The rationale used to cease a 5-second closely guarded count at the same time as the dribbler does that is:
- if the dribbler gets his head and shoulders past a defender, that defender has lost his "legal guarding position".
- because the defender has lost his "legal guarding position", the dribbler can then be no longer considered as being "closely guarded" by rule.
- iow, as the 5-second closely-guarded count only applies to a dribbler with a defender with LGP, the count should end when a dribbler gets his head and shoulders past that defender.
Make sense?
|
Wow! Very well worded JR. Thats the best I've read on this site.
__________________
"If you ever stop to say 'What's going to happen to me if I make this call', you might as well take your whistle and shove it because that's all the respect you're giving it."-Earl Strom
|