
Thu Feb 09, 2006, 09:46pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by Oz Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Oz Referee
It's different in FIBA. All lines are considered to be of zero width, so if inbounds and you touch the line, you have gone out of bounds. But if you are out of bounds and touch the line, you have touched the court, and thus violated. Same applies for all other lines on the court.
|
You're missing the point, OZ. Yes, the OOB line has zero width in NFHS, NCAA, and NBA, too. The line is the inside edge of the BOUNDARY LINE. If you have a 2 foot wide border around the court serving as a boundary line, the entire 2 feet area is OOB. But you can't step on the inside edge of the boundary line.
|
I realise what you are saying, but FIBA is different. If there was a 2 foot wide boundary line in FIBA and you were out of bounds ready to throw the ball in - then the OUTSIDE edge of the line is the start of the court. However, if standing inbounds, then the INSIDE edge of the line is the start of OOB.
|
Wow. Forgive me but that's damn goofy.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott
"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
|