View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 08, 2006, 10:27pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by roadking
can a player inbounding the ball jump over the boundry line (without touching) before releasing the ball?
After a made or awarded basket - legal.

During a spot throw-in - illegal.

The thrower must remain on or over the throw-in spot or it's a violation. If he jumped across the boundary line, then he's no longer over the 3' spot that's OOB.
Say what?

Casebook play 7.6.2 sez that "it is permissible for the thrower to move backward or forward within the 3-foot-wide designated area without violating...". Casebook play 4.42.6 also mentions the designated spot as only requiring the thrower to keep any portion of his body on or over the 3-foot width of the designated spot.

There's no rule that I know of that says that the designated spot is limited to the boundary line at the front, as well as a set distance to the back, except that they can't climb the bleachers. There's nothing in rule 9-2 that's being violated that I'm aware of either. If I'm missing something, can you please point me to the rule that I'm missing?
JR, the player can move forward or backwards over the designated-spot. But the designated-spot is OOB, not inbounds. Therefore, it does not extend across the boundary line. And yes, I have seen this in an interp on the NF site.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote