 
			
				Tue Feb 07, 2006, 12:57pm
			
			
			
		  
	 | 
	
		
		
		
			
			| 
				
				 Official Forum Member 
				
				
			 | 
			  | 
			
				
					Join Date: Dec 2004 
					
					
					
						Posts: 508
					 
					
					
					
					
					     
				 
			 | 
		 
		 
		
	 | 
	
	
		
	
		
		
		
		
			
			
	Quote: 
	
	
		
			
				Originally posted by Camron Rust  
	Quote: 
	
	
		
			
				Originally posted by assignmentmaker  
Is a missed shot recovered by the shooting team the same thing as a change of possession for the purpose of 2-10-6? 
 
...On the basis that 2-6-10 doesn't say 'team control'. I would treat Team A shooting and rebounding the shot as one, continuous possession for the purpose of applying the rule. 
  
			
		 | 
	 
	 
 As would I. If we didn't consider the possible results... 
 
A2 fouled...Error made (merited FTs not awarded) 
A gets ball for throwin 
A throws it in 
A1 shoots...misses...shoots...misses 
B deflects rebound OOB (never had control) 
Error discovered 
If you consider the rebound a possession change, you would give A2 the merited FT and give A the ball back no matter what.  Of course, that is not how it is...FTs are shot with players on lane and play from there. 
 
Only when B earns the ball through a foul, violation, or made basket by A, or by gaining team control do they gain possession. 
			
		 | 
	 
	 
 Do you mean that the circumstances you list are in addition to the simple case of Team A shoots and rebounds its own miss?
		  
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
				__________________ 
				Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
			 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 |