View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2006, 11:38pm
Back In The Saddle Back In The Saddle is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Re: Re: Thanks for the input....

Quote:
Originally posted by M&M Guy
Quote:
Originally posted by JTRICE
Kajun ref in Texas is right.

Rule 9 Section 2 Article 11 says "The opponent of the thrower shall not have any part of his person through the inbounds side of the throw-in boundary plane...."

The penalty says "The first violation of the throw-in boundary plane by an opponent of the thrower shall result in a team warning for delay...."

So.... it is a violation.... and the ball is given back to the same team at the same place.....but because of the violation... by definition this is not an AP throw-in anymore.

Therefore the official (table) should not reverse the AP arrow.
So, let's say Team A scores, and Team B gets the endline throw-in. A1 reaches through, and the official calls the boundry plane violation. Does B lose the right to run the endline?
No. The throwing team retains the right to run the endline if the scoring team commits a violation or common foul before the throw-in ends and the succeeding throw-in would be on the endline. (NFHS 7-5-7)
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote