View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 02:38pm
rainmaker rainmaker is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Yes, wipe the basket. There's a case book play, which covers this that I posted in another thread just this morning, but I'll post it here for you as well.

8.6.1 SITUATION: A1 is about to attempt the first of a one-and-one free-throw situation. The administering official steps in and erroneously informs players that two shots will be taken. A1's first attempt is unsuccessful. The missed shot is rebounded by: (a) B1, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; (b) A2, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; or (c) B2, with several players from both teams attempting to secure the rebound. The officials recognize their error at this point. RULING: In (a) and (b), the official's error clearly put one team at a disadvantage (players stood motionless and didn't attempt to rebound). Play should be whistled dead immediately and resumed using the alternating-possession procedure. In (c), both teams made an attempt to rebound despite the official's error and had an equal opportunity to gain possession of the rebound. Play should continue.
It says the play should be whistled dead immediately, but once the basket does happen, I'm not sure you can wipe it away.

Reply With Quote