Quote:
Originally posted by RefNVa
It has EVERYTHING to do with the box! If they're in the box at the snap then they can BBW if they aren't they can't. Seems pretty simple to me but hey I'm a simple guy!!!
|
Not really that simple.
For example, A88 goes in motion, and at the snap is off the LOS but in the free-blocking zone, then blocks an on-coming defender, who was in the zone at the snap, below the waist while the ball is still in the zone.
Based on your statement above, you would not throw the flag in this situation. Please check Rule 2-17-2. Only players who line up
on the LOS and in the free blocking zone are permitted to and may be involved in a block below the waist. In addition, these players may only block below the waist if the ball has not left the zone.