David writes:
"Perhaps I'm missing something in your explanation. So, what do you do once it has been established that BR missed 1st and a successful appeal is executed? He's out, right?
But then the BR never reached first ... which would require the umpire to invoke the catcher's interference penalty - right? Therefore, BR is awarded 1st notwithstanding the appeal."
Don't think of it as he never reached first. Think of it as he reached first, and then had first taken away.
Once he physically passed the base he had acquired the base, notwithstanding the fact that he did not physically touched the base. BR reached second safely, so the interference is ignored. When the missed base appeal occurs, it is as if the interference had never occured.
__________________
advocatus diaboli Somebody who criticizes or opposes something in order to provoke a discussion or argument.
|