The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 30, 2001, 11:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 55
David writes:

"Perhaps I'm missing something in your explanation. So, what do you do once it has been established that BR missed 1st and a successful appeal is executed? He's out, right?

But then the BR never reached first ... which would require the umpire to invoke the catcher's interference penalty - right? Therefore, BR is awarded 1st notwithstanding the appeal."


Don't think of it as he never reached first. Think of it as he reached first, and then had first taken away.

Once he physically passed the base he had acquired the base, notwithstanding the fact that he did not physically touched the base. BR reached second safely, so the interference is ignored. When the missed base appeal occurs, it is as if the interference had never occured.
__________________
advocatus diaboli Somebody who criticizes or opposes something in order to provoke a discussion or argument.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1