View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 01, 2006, 05:45pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Therefore, could you clarify a few things for me?
1. Is an interrupted dribble considered part of a player's dribble even though there is no player control?
2. When the ball bounces in the frontcourt during the interrupted dribble does it obtain frontcourt status?
3. Why specifically do you rule differently for part 3? When does the ball obtain frontcourt status during this play?
1. Yes. It's an interrupted dribble, not an ended dribble.
2. Not as far as the dribbler is concerned. If A2 grabs the ball instead of continuing the dribble, you have a violation. But he doesn't. He continues dribbling. The rule says there's no FC status until all three points are across on the dribble.
3. Because A3 is NOT the dribbler. When A3 touches the ball, it has FC status and he's in the BC, so it's a violation. The rule doesn't allow A3 to start a dribble. It only allows A2 to continue the original dribble.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote